Debut album: Symbiosis

Merel recently released her debut album together with pianist Dina Ivanova, prize winner of the most recent International Liszt Piano Competition in Utrecht.

schermafbeelding 2019-01-26 om 20.34.10

The album includes their absolute favourite Sonata for violin and piano: the Franck Sonata. They combine this Sonata with compositions by two female composers: Poldwoski (daughter of the famous composer Henryk Wieniawski) and Mathilde Wantenaar.

Poldowski wrote her Sonata for violin and piano at a time when women weren’t allowed to vote. She had a very interesting life, especially for a woman of her time; she travelled across Europe as a concert pianist, designed haute-couture for the British Royal Family and wrote beautiful late-romantic compositions. The Sprookjes (fairytales) by twenty-five-year-old composer Mathilde Wantenaar were written about a century later. Female composers are still a minority in classical music, and with this album Merel and Dina would like to draw some extra attention to these two wonderful female composers.

You can order the album here.


Poldowski (Irene Regina Wieniawska) (1879-1932) – Sonata in D minor

  1. Andante Languido
  2. Scherzo: Vivace
  3. Finale: Presto con Fuoco

Mathilde Wantenaar (*1993) – Sprookjes: Musical Tales for Violin and Piano

  1. No 1
  2. No 2
  3. No 3

César Franck (1822-1890) – Sonata for Piano and Violin in A major

  1. Allegretto ben moderato
  2. Allegro
  3. Ben moderato: Recitativo-Fantasia
  4. Allegretto poco mosso